A Closing Line.....

Writing history is a difficult task. Writing scientific history to document the progress and achievements of a scientific Department is even more difficult. One has to depend on the resources from archival material and inputs from a number of persons who were or have been associated with the institute for a very long period of time. That part is easy. The difficult part is that the Editor has to ensure that all the important events and research work carried out over the years are highlighted without missing anything! And that is a tall order. I am thankful to a large number of eminent scientists and fellow colleagues who have selflessly contributed by discussing ideas, sharing data, providing photographs, reading drafts of the manuscript and enthusiastically pointing out any loose ends to me. The volume owes much to the generous use of red pencil by most of them and that has helped us in documenting the significant scientific achievements of the radioisotopes and radiation technology programme of the last fifty years of DAE. Yet, I must admit that any flaws that remain in the book are my responsibility.

It is a pleasure to thank Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, AEC and Secretary to the Government of India for entrusting me this responsibility and clearly defining the broad guidelines. I am thankful to my senior colleagues and eminent scientists – Dr. V.K. Iya, former Director, Isotope Group, Dr. D.D. Sood, former Director, Radiochemistry and Isotope Group, Dr. A.M. Samuel, former Director, Bio Medical Group, for many stimulating discussions and providing a glimpse into how some of the important research activities got initiated in the early years. It is time to thank my colleagues: Dr. Dinshaw, Director, Tata Memorial Centre, J.K. Ghosh, Chief Executive, BRIT, Dr. Narendra Nair, Head, Radiation Medicine Centre; Dr. V.K. Manchanda, Head, Radiochemistry Division; Dr. Gursharan Singh, Head, Isotope Applications Division; Dr. Arun Sharma, Head, Food Technology Division; Dr. S.F.D'Souza, Head, Nuclear Agriculture and Biotechnology Division, Dr. K. Pendharkar, Head, Internal Dosimetry Division, Dr. M.G.R. Rajan, Head, Laboratory Nuclear Medicine Section; Dr.K.L. Ramakumar, Head, Radioanalytical Chemistry Sec-tion, Dr. A.V.R. Reddy, Radiochemistry Division, D.S. Lavale and Dr. N. Sivaprasad, Senior General Manager, BRIT. The contributions from these scientists have helped to make this volume happen. Special thanks are due to Dr. S. Sabharwal, Head, Radiation Technology Development Section and Dr. Meera Venkatesh, Head, Radiopharmaceuticals Division for spending long hours in coordinating the entire publication process. My sincere thanks are also due to Dr. Vijai Kumar, Head, Scientific Information Resource Division and BARC library staff for the help provided in locating the archived documents. And finally, it is a pleasure to thank R.K.Bhatnagar, Head, Publication Division, DAE and his team, in particular Sudhir Vetal, for cover design, page and colour layout work suggestions and willingness to incorporate last minute changes.

V. Venugopal